- August 4 to 17, 2024


Uk/Ireland/The Netherlands
Year(s) at MISQA
Quartet members

Violin: Magnus Johnston

Violin: Marÿe Ploemacher

Viola: Simone v.d. Giessen

Cello: Brian O’Kane


Winner of the 2008 Outstanding Young Artist Award at the MIDEM Classique Awards in Cannes, the Navarra Quartet has also taken the 2nd Prize at the 2007 Melbourne International Competition and 1st Prize in 2005 at the Florence International Competition.  Formed in 2002 at the Royal Northern College of Music under the guidance of the late Dr Christopher Rowland and Alasdair Tait, and latterly as postgraduate students of the Alban Berg Quartet in Cologne, they are now Quartet in Residence at the Royal Northern College of Music. In 2010 the quartet recorded its first CD for Challenge Records of Peteris Vasks’ Quartets.
The Navarra Quartet is an official selection of the 11th Banff International String Quartet Competition (August 26 -September 1, 2013).